buttery aroma into future passion^^

03Mar09

doughboy.jpgMy nose can always tell whenever my Mom makes these colourful Cornflake Marshmallow Krispies. The sweet and slightly buttery aroma fills the whole house as the marshmallows slowly started to melt on the stove. Biting into the Cornflake Marshmallow Krispies meant everything to me as a little girl who simply loved all types of foods. I love the way it filled my mouth completely with its sweet and juicy flavour. Sweet marshmallows and just crunchy cornflakes coming together was unbelievably good.

“Mom, what are you making?”, I ask even if I know what she is making. I want to make sure that the tasty Cornflake Marshmallow Krispies would soon be in my mouth.

A bright smile appears on my face as my Mom answers, “Your favourite, Cornflake Marshmallow Krispies, sweetie.”

cooking_with_kids_600.jpgI remember running into the kitchen to observe every move my Mom made just to see what kinds of food she added to the tasty treat. She would add a bowl full of colourful marshmallows and a bowl full of cereal. I used to snack on the ingredients that were prepared while my Mom wasn’t watching. Once the marshmallows go on to the stove, I’d just stare at it until it melts completely and the cereal is added. My Mom would mix the two together and scoop them up in the end. Eating the slightly warm and chewy chunks of Cornflake Marshmallow Krispies off the spoon would always make my day.

Now that I come to think of it, seeing my Mom in the kitchen often as a child led me to have an interest in food. It’s definitely a strong possibility because I still remember standing up on a chair near my Mom whenever she used to cook for the family. I also helped her out frequently in the kitchen while she tried new recipes and prepared meals.

images.jpegWhen I started school, I used to prepare simple snacks for myself and spend a lot of time at the kitchen. Of course, I needed help from my Mom or even my Dad with lots of things, but when I became a 6th grader, my passion for food truly opened up. I not only made snacks, but also prepared meals and desserts and all sorts of things. I spent time watching the Foodnetwork Channel all day long and tried suggested recipes and created some of my own. But, this is a story for another day…

Here’s the recipe for the delicious Cornflake Marshmallow Krispies!!!

Recipe

Cornflake Marshmallow Krispies is another variation of Rice Krispies, but better!

dsc02486.jpg

Yield: 15 pieces

Ingredients:

200g of Colourful Marshmallow (any types of marshmallows will work)

2 tbsp of Cooking Oil & 2 tbsp of Margarine (can replace Margarine with Butter)

5 cups of Not-Sweet Cornflake (can replace Cornflake with Rice Crispy Cereal)

Optional:

1 tbsp of Shredded Unsweetened Coconut

1/4 cup of Chopped Walnuts

How to Make It:

1. In a large pot, melt cooking oil and margarine over low heat

dsc02474.jpg

2. Prepare a large baking sheet and cover it with a parchment paper

3. Stir in the marshmallows until they melt completely (stir the marshmallows constantly so that they don’t get stuck on the pot)

dsc02477.jpg » dsc02479.jpg

4. Add cornflakes (and the optional ingredients) into the pot and fold the mixture until the cornflakes are fully coated with marshmallows

dsc02480.jpg » dsc02482.jpg

5. Turn off the heat

6. Scoop the warm mixture with an ice cream scoop and place them on the prepared baking sheet

dsc02483.jpg

7. Let it cool completely (can put it in the freezer for some time to make the process faster)

dsc02484.jpg

8. Enjoy!

One Response to “buttery aroma into future passion^^”

  1. 1 lporter

    Sometimes the best foods are those we associate with love and childhood. My aunt used to make powdered sugar graham crackers. So simple and I still love them, partially because of the associations with her.


Leave a Reply

